So the job I wrote about last time called me today at noon. I went in for the interview at 3 pm (albeit 15 mins late--bad, I know, but the elevator was out of service, so I had to walk down 13 flights to print extra copies of my resume in the business center, then my second train was packed, so I had to wait for two of them to pass before a third one was empty enough so I could board). Anyway, I went in, filled out an application, interviewed with the manager of that location (the one who had called me), asked and answered many questions (including ones I didn't think went so well), and then they said they would need some documents from me to sponsor my visa. Yay!
So I'm relieved that I found a visa sponsor and that I don't have to leave the country in mid-May, when my tourist visa expires. But the work schedule and benefits kind of blow. I was half-hoping I'd be able to get a job at a pre-school near me, even though it's more about changing diapers than teaching English. But the hours are normal kids' school hours: Mon-Fri, 8:30-4 (until 4:50 twice a week for teaching ESL). And the pay is 20,000 yen/month more than the school that hired me, with shorter hours, more benefits, and fewer responsibilities. Ah well. Maybe next time.
I'm gonna keep chanting to do my best and fulfill my mission, whatever that may be. There's a reason I got this job--maybe it's to remind me of what busting my ass feels like (similar to that Wedding Box job a few years ago). Then, like President Ikeda said, the next step of my path or mission will open up before me.
No comments:
Post a Comment