Saturday, June 25, 2011

What It Means to Have a Tiny Fridge

It means stress. It means not being able to buy groceries for the week in one trip--not that I could carry everything in my two arms or in my bookbag anyway, since we don't have a car or even a "grandma cart" here, which no one actually has here. The only "grandma carts" hey have here are the ones with little seats on the top, and the carrying capacity is less than what I could carry myself, unless something was small and heavy, of course.

Having a tiny fridge also means having to buy a cooler (or two or three) for our BBQ tomorrow, which Koko thought it was so easy to have. He had actually invited our friends over last Sunday but we had to postpone it because we had already accepted an invitation to my colleagues' joint birthday party.

I've spent all week thinking about the things I'd need to prepare for it. Koko is good at planning things like budgets, career and education goals, but he has no idea how much work it takes to host a BBQ.

This is like the time in California when he thought it would be a good idea to have his colleagues come over right after work one day for a BBQ. That meant I had to prepare everything myself--buying and marinating the skewers (the wooden sticks for which must first be soaked for half an hour), marinating the chicken wingettes and drummettes, making the burgers, making sure hat I buy fish and veggie burgers incase someone didn't eat meat, making the iced tea, etc.

Now I only have one day to do all this, and I have to cut back on the kinds of foods, because I don't have a pan or container big enough for skewers and don't know if I'll have time to make them even if I did.

I wanted to make a salad earlier this week (as well as to buy some grilling veggies and cheese) and they took up the whole fridge, as you can see in the picture. We'll have to buy a cooler or two, depending on the size, to store he raw meat until it's ready to go on the grill.

We'll also need a small, foldable table, like the ones most Koreans have in their homes, or like what Japanese have for--I'm assuming--tea, since they call it chabudai.

Oh crap, and plates, utensils, napkins and cups.

Sigh.

I love making food and having people over, but it always stresses me out, especially when there's a ton of stuff to do and to buy, and no time or space to do it in. :T

No comments:

Post a Comment