Tuesday, July 19, 2011

Late Again :(

I'm going to be late for work--again. I've already been late 8 times since I started this job at the end of April. I'm really bad about punctuality, and it doesn't help that I have to take 2-3 trains to get to the schools. So if I miss one train, it throws me off and creates a domino effect.

For every three infractions incurred (including lateness and not calling when you're going to be late), you have to sign a written warning. After two written warnings, you lose your bonus (about $200 at the end of the year). Starting with the third written warning, the school starts deducting a day's pay. I've already signed my third written warning and with today's lateness, I am just one more away from my fourth warning. Sigh. And I was just talking to Myungeun yesterday about this and how I've been trying to be on time more.

She said doing gongyo and chanting even 10 minutes in the morning really helps. I haven't chanted much in the past two months. I think I did gongyo like once. I did it the other day; it seemed that thugs went a little more smoothly, like not having to wait for the elevator, no crowd on the train, etc. I should start doing it again, more consistently. I keep missing the train, taking the wrong one, or taking the right one and getting off at the wrong stop.

The trains usually announce the upcoming stop right after leaving the current one and make another announcement when that stop has arrived. A few weeks ago, I was listening to my music and thought the announcement for "This is Azabu Juban" had been been a while back, so I got off at the next stop, thinking it was my stop.

I thought the escalator layout was a little different and walked all the way up, past everyone else who was in the "standing lane" before I realized that it was the wrong station. So I had to take the escalator back down (and see some of the people I had pushed past) to wait for the next train.

On Friday night, I'd set my alarm clock for 10 (changing it from one that had been set for 6:15 pm), and forgot to change the pm to am. So I didn't wake up until 12 noon, when Koko woke me up and asked when I had to be at work. I had to be on the train already. x_X I was about 50 minutes late, and was almost late for my first class. If you miss your first class, they deduct half a day's pay. :T

No comments:

Post a Comment